Young Artist Scholarship Competition

The Young Artist Scholarship Competition awards approximately $20,000 in scholarships each year! 

Scholarships are awarded in each age division and instrument category. First place awards for college are $1,200; high school, $750; and junior high, $500. Second place and honorable mention awards are also granted.

First place winners are recognized with a featured concert performance at MacPhail Center for Music, Minneapolis. Additional performance opportunities are also offered to winners.

Application deadline:
Monday, January 8, 2018 at 7:00pm

Online Applications: Online Payments

2018 Competition Dates

Young Artist Recitals
January 20, 21, 27, 28 and February 10 & 11 (between 1:30 and 4:00 pm) 
University Lutheran Church of Hope, Minneapolis

Young Artist Scholarship Competition
Saturday, March 3, 2018
St. Catherine University, Saint Paul

Winners' Concert
Thursday, April 19, 2018 at 7:00 pm
MacPhail Center for Music, Minneapolis


Qualifications and Categories

  • Students enrolled in grades 7-12, college or graduate programs in Minnesota, South Dakota, North Dakota, Wisconsin, or Iowa are eligible.
  • Entrants must be currently studying music privately.

Competition Categories

Piano, Strings, Winds/Brass

  • Junior High: Grades 7-9
  • Senior High: Grades 10-12
  • College: Age 25 or under on February 1, 2018


  • Senior High: Grades 10-12
  • College Intermediate: Age 20 or under on February 1, 2018
  • College Advanced: Age 21-25 on February 1, 2018

Accompanist Listings


About the Young Artist Scholarship Competition, contact:
Judy Blomgren

About the Young Artist Recitals, contact:
Russell Dedrick

About submitting the online application, contact:
Megan Millett
Operations Manager
(612) 333-0313


Click above for directions to University Lutheran Church of Hope


Click above for directions to St. Catherine University


Click above for directions to MacPhail Center for Music

Previous Year's Results


Featured Performances by Winners
Presented by Baby Blue Arts

View previous year's judges here.